Design as Imagery

I realized that keeping up this blog is just a good excuse to look at great typography. Each week, I sit down in hopes of finding one or two examples of design so well done that it knocks your socks off and usually after a good 45 minutes of staring at things wondering why I haven’t designed more.. I finally narrow it down to the week’s top picks.

This week is focusing mostly on typography used as imagery. There is a popular one going around lately which is a world map and all of the countries are spelled out within it. I stumbled across this Zebra one today and it’s quite the piece.

Typography is way more than just picking whether or not to use the default typeface in Word.

Last year for a class project we were given specific typefaces and supposed to show things such as pattern, positive/negative, etc. Can you guess the characters used?

